Mayon Volcano

September 10, 2010

Saan Nanggaling Ang Mayon

Mayon Volcano, well-known as Mount Mayon, is an active stratovolcano in the province of Albay, in the Bicol Region, on the island of Luzon, in the Philippines. Renowned as the “perfect cone” because of its almost symmetrically conelike shape, Mayon forms the northernmost boundary of Legazpi City. Local folklore mentions to the volcano as Bulkang Magayon, after the legendary heroine Daragang Magayon (Bikol: ‘Lady Beautiful’). On October 13, 2008 it was included in New 7 Wonders of Nature Top 10 list.

Mayon Volcano is the main landmark of Albay Province, Philippines. It is 10 kms./6 miles fr. the Gulf of Albay, in the cities & municipalities of Legazpi City, Daraga, Camalig, Guinobatan, Ligao City, Tabaco City, Malilipot, & Santo Domingo (clockwise from Legazpi). It rises 2462 m (8,077 ft) above the gulf. Mayon Volcano is the most active volcano in the Phils., and its activity is regularly supervised by PHIVOLCS from their provincial headquarters on Ligñon Hill, about 10 kilometers away from the peak.

Related Articles:

Incoming search terms:

1 Comment for this entry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Post
Next Post