Philippine Islands

February 14, 2010
Philippine Island

Philippine Island

The Philippines (“Pilipinas”), officially better-known as the Republic of the Philippines (“Republika ng Pilipinas”), is a state in Southeast Asia in the western Pacific Ocean. To its northern across the Luzon Strait lies Taiwan. West across the South China Sea sits Vietnam. The Sulu Sea to the southwest dwells between the area and the island of Borneo, and to the south the Celebes Sea separates it from other islands of Indonesia. It is bordered on the east by the Philippine Sea. Its position on the Pacific Ring of Fire and its tropical climate make the Philippines prone to earthquakes and typhoons but have also endowed the area with natural resources and produced it one of the richest areas of biodiversity in the world. An archipelago comprising 7,107 islands, the Philippines is sorted broadly into three main geographical divisions: Luzon, Visayas, & Mindanao. Its capital city is Manila.

Related Articles:

Incoming search terms:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Next Post